10 Inspiring Books to Read In Silence

10 Inspiring Books to Read In Silence
10 Inspiring Books to Read In Silence

However, you can cope with depression and bad mood by eating chocolate or drinking spirits but it is healthier to read a good book. It is an excellent way to experience and go through someone’s life and shake yours. Especially when a bad weather whispers: “Stay at home, wrap yourself in a blanket and read something!” Here is a list of 10 inspiring books to read that are able to bring positive emotions during the gloomiest rainy day. We hope you will find these inspiring books worth to read as we did.

header-1 Jerome K. Jerome “Three men in a boat (To say nothing of the dog)”

inspiring books to read Jerome K. Jerome “Three men in a boat

Originally intended as a serious travel guide, then streamlined into an amusing account of a farcical boating excursion on the Thames river, Three Men in a Boat is Jerome K. Jerome’s controversially “vulgar” take on English history and recreation. A mix of social satire and Victorian wit, this book of ramblings broaches a variety of unlikely subjects, including leisure, nostalgia, and friendship. Despite telling a story where everything goes wrong, this funny travelogue offers a vivid portrait of Victorian England the reader will not soon forget.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-2 Joanne Harris “Blackberry wine”

Joanne Harris “Blackberry wine”

As a boy, writer Jay Mackintosh spent three golden summers in the ramshackle home of “Jackapple Joe” Cox. A lonely child, he found solace in Old Joe’s simple wisdom and folk charms. The magic was lost, however, when Joe disappeared without warning one fall.

Years later, Jay’s life is stalled with regret and ennui. His bestselling novel, Jackapple Joe, was published ten years earlier and he has written nothing since. Impulsively, he decides to leave his urban life in London and, sight unseen, purchases a farmhouse in the remote French village of Lansquenet. There, in that strange and yet strangely familiar place, Jay hopes to re-create the magic of those golden childhood summers. And while the spirit of Joe is calling to him, it is actually a similarly haunted, reclusive woman who will ultimately help Jay find himself again.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-3 Ray Bradbury “A Medicine for Melancholy and Other Stories”

Ray Bradbury “A Medicine for Melancholy and Other Stories”

Ray Bradbury is a painter who uses words rather than brushes–for he created lasting visual images that, once observed, are impossible to forget. Sinister mushrooms growing in a dank cellar. A family’s first glimpse at Martians. A wonderful white vanilla ice-cream summer suit that changes everyone who wears it. A great artist drawing in the sand on the beach. A clunky contraption made out of household implements to help some kids play a game called Invasion. A marvelous Christmas display a little boy ever saw. All those images and many more are inside this book, a new trade edition of thirty-one of Bradbury’s most arresting tales–timeless short fiction that ranges from the farthest reaches of space to the innermost stirrings of the heart. Ray Bradbury is known worldwide as one of the century’s great men of imagination. Here are thirty-one reasons why.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-4 Fannie Flagg “Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café”

Fannie Flagg “Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café”

Folksy and fresh, endearing and affecting, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is the now-classic novel of two women in the 1980s; of gray-headed Mrs. Threadgoode telling her life story to Evelyn, who is in the sad slump of middle age. The tale she tells is also of two women–of the irrepressibly daredevilish tomboy Idgie and her friend Ruth–who back in the thirties ran a little place in Whistle Stop, Alabama, a Southern kind of Cafe Wobegon offering good barbecue and good coffee and all kinds of love and laughter, even an occasional murder. And as the past unfolds, the present–for Evelyn and for us–will never be quite the same again…

Buy this book on Amazon

header-5 David Mitchell “Cloud Atlas”

David Mitchell “Cloud Atlas”

This is one of the best inspiring books to read. A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-6 Erlend Loe “Naïve. Super”

Erlend Loe “Naïve. Super”

Troubled by an inability to find any meaning in his life, the 25-year-old narrator of this deceptively simple novel quits university and eventually arrives at his brother’s New York apartment. In a bid to discover what life is all about, he writes lists. He becomes obsessed by time and whether it actually matters. He faxes his meteorologist friend. He endlessly bounces a ball against the wall. He befriends a small boy who lives next door. He yearns to get to the bottom of life and how best to live it. Funny, friendly, enigmatic, and frequently poignant—superbly naive.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-7 Elizabeth Gilbert “Eat, Pray, Love”

Elizabeth Gilbert “Eat, Pray, Love”

This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers and reviewers. Elizabeth Gilbert tells how she made the difficult choice to leave behind all the trappings of modern American success (marriage, house in the country, career) and find, instead, what she truly wanted from life. Setting out for a year to study three different aspects of her nature amid three different cultures, Gilbert explored the art of pleasure in Italy and the art of devotion in India, and then a balance between the two on the Indonesian island of Bali. By turns rapturous and rueful, this wise and funny author (whom Booklist calls “Anne Lamott’s hip, yoga- practicing, footloose younger sister”) is poised to garner yet more adoring fans.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-8 John Irving “The cider house rules”

John Irving “The cider house rules”

First published in 1985, The Cider House Rules is set in rural Maine in the first half of the twentieth century. The novel tells the story of Dr. Wilbur Larch–saint and obstetrician, founder and director of the orphanage in the town of St. Cloud’s, ether addict and abortionist. This is also the story of Dr. Larch’s favorite orphan, Homer Wells, who is never adopted.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-9 Jenny Downham “Before I die”

Jenny Downham “Before I die”

For the many readers who love The Fault in Our Stars, this is the story of a girl who is determined to live, love, and to write her own ending before her time is finally up.

Tessa has just months to live. Fighting back against hospital visits, endless tests, and drugs with excruciating side effects, Tessa compiles a list. It’s her To Do Before I Die list. And number one is Sex. Released from the constraints of “normal” life, Tessa tastes new experiences to make her feel alive while her failing body struggles to keep up. Tessa’s feelings, her relationships with her father and brother, her estranged mother, her best friend, and her new boyfriend, are all painfully crystallized in the precious weeks before Tessa’s time runs out.

Buy this book on Amazon

header-10 Amis Kingsley “Lucky Jim”

Amis Kingsley “Lucky Jim”

This one of inspiring books is so funny, you will laugh for sure! Regarded by many as the finest, comic novel of the twentieth century, Lucky Jim remains as trenchant, withering, and eloquently misanthropic as when it first scandalized readers in 1954. This is the story of Jim Dixon, a hapless lecturer in medieval history at a provincial university who knows better than most that “there was no end to the ways in which nice things are nicer than nasty ones.” Kingsley Amis’s scabrous debut leads the reader through a gallery of emphatically English bores, cranks, frauds, and neurotics with whom Dixon must contend in one way or another in order to hold on to his cushy academic perch and win the girl of his fancy.

More than just a merciless satire of cloistered college life and stuffy postwar manners, Lucky Jim is an attack on the forces of boredom, whatever form they may take, and a work of art that at once distills and extends an entire tradition of English comic writing, from Fielding and Dickens through Wodehouse and Waugh. As Christopher Hitchens has written, “If you can picture Bertie or Jeeves being capable of actual malice, and simultaneously imagine Evelyn Waugh forgetting about original sin, you have the combination of innocence and experience that makes this short romp so imperishable.”

Buy this book on Amazon

In Conclusion to the List of Inspiring Books…

If you have spare time, it is always better to spend it wisely, take one of these inspiring books, sit comfortably and read. We hope that this list of inspiring books did become a source of motivation and a killer of bad and negative thoughts. Press Like or share these inspiring books with your friends.

References

1. http://www.lifehack.org/articles/communication/30-inspiring-books-you-have-read.html

2. http://www.inc.com/geoffrey-james/top-10-motivational-books-of-all-time.html

3. https://www.happier.com/blog/5-inspiring-books-that-will-help-you-live-your-best-life

Additional:

4. http://smallbiztrends.com/2011/11/best-motivational-books.html

5. http://writetodone.com/books-for-writers/

6. http://playfullearning.net/2013/09/10-books-that-inspire-kids-to-write/

7. http://www.sheheroes.org/2011/03/10-inspiring-books-for-girls/

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You Might Also Like